UKC

Best fully treated 10mm (<0.2mm>) for new climber

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Imedio 12 Feb 2018

Hi guys and girls I’m new to sport climbing and have a 30 meter rope (Mammut galaxy) for indoor lead.  I want to get a 60 or 70 meter rope for outdoor lead climbing.  I know I can just get something like the Beal karma 9.8mm 60m for £70 from go out doors or the mammut galaxy for £75 BUT!   I would like a 60 or 70 meter rope that is sheath bonded and dry treated. The reason being, I want this rope as a projecting and workhorse rope for a long time And will have something else for redpointing my hardest routes later on down the line. Money isn’t really an issue due to the nature of the ropes job and longevity.

Recommendations/advice are needed 

Post edited at 08:41
 gravy 12 Feb 2018
In reply to Imedio:

If you're new to climbing and just looking to sport climb then it really doesn't matter all that much.  The rope will become fuzzy and damaged - just get a thick, cheap rope and retire it when it gets worn and damaged.  There's no point in fancy pant features for this application. In my experience mammut galaxy ropes last really well.

MischaHY 12 Feb 2018
In reply to Imedio:

Beal Tiger seems ideal. Unicore, dry treated etc. 10mm so not super light but it'll certainly last. 

https://www.alpinetrek.co.uk/beal-tiger-10-mm-golden-dry-single-rope/

MischaHY 12 Feb 2018
In reply to gravy:

Must say I've had a galaxy for 5 years and it's still fine, although it's been chopped a few times. Cracking ropes. 

OP Imedio 12 Feb 2018
In reply to gravy:

I understand this but I don’t see the point in not getting a rope that is more durable and will stand up to much tougher abuse, especially for a first sport rope.  It costs about £50 more and you get longer lasting, tougher rope.

OP Imedio 12 Feb 2018
In reply to MischaHY: