UKC

Bits of crags falling down

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Slackboot 22 Mar 2021

Last time I was out climbing was at  Park Nab. This is a lovely little crag perched high on a hill. I have been coming here and doing the same routes for nearly 50 years. On one of my first visits, I remember getting to the top of Chairman's Climb (HVS 4c) and thinking that the pinnacle the climb is on looked like it was about to collapse. What was keeping it up? 50 years later it is still here and still makes me feel that my additional weight out there on the arete will be enough to tip the balance. 

Conversely I used to do a climb here called Styx. On a great buttress which had some of the best harder routes. It always felt like a solid piece of rock to me with no indication that it would all come crashing down back in the 1990's. Does anyone else suffer from this inability to discern whether rock which appears solid will unaccountably end up in a pile at the bottom of the crag, while teetering piles of balanced blocks will seem to go on for ever?

McHeath 22 Mar 2021
In reply to Slackboot:

Joe Simpson on the Dru

Red Rover 22 Mar 2021
In reply to Slackboot:

I'm amazed that Red Pencil on Pen Y Ghent is still there. I've been saying this for years but it can't be long now.

petegunn 22 Mar 2021
In reply to Red Rover:

The cracked wall at Trowbarrow is still standing up even though they thought it might go back in the 80's. One day!

steveriley 22 Mar 2021
In reply to Slackboot:

I did a route called the Gouffle Connection in Warton Main on my 18th birthday. Went back a year later and it wasn't there

I see it's still getting logs - wonder what it looks like now?

jkarran 22 Mar 2021
In reply to Slackboot: