UKC

Climbing after spinal surgery

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I am likely to be having spinal decompression surgery on my lumbar spine ( or,hopefully not, a spinal fusion). I can't climb at the moment due to restriction of movement. Has anyone experience of climbing after spinal surgery. If so how long did it take to recover from the op and what effect did it have on your climbing.
Fingers crossed.
Thanks
Trevor
In reply to Trevor Langhorne:

Trev, some would say "Don't do it".
I have no personal experience, but Alexander technique, Pilates, time is a healer, might work.
https://www.wddty.com/ has articles on benefits of avoiding surgery.
DC
 WildCamper 14 Jun 2017

Ive had spinal surgery (microdiscectomy) and it took me months before i felt right to get into a harness as it sits right where my scar is. When i did eventually get back into one, i tried sitting in it first before taking a drop on it which felt fine so have been ok to climb since
I'll never boulder again unfortunately as I cant risk landing funny amd making things worse

My injury has limited my range of motion but physio/yoga/pilates have improved things. I just have to take it easy and sit odd routes out sometimes.

Hope everything goes well for you
 climber34neil 14 Jun 2017