UKC

Climbing terminology

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 21 Jan 2021

I am a British translator working on a series of climbing texts from French to English.

I really want to ensure that the terminology I use is as clear and accurate as possible, and as such have been carrying out research in the field of climbing.

However, there are points when I feel myself going round in circles, and would like to check things over with some actual climbers!

The French term relais is frequently defined as comprising two anchor points, used to provide protection to climbers.

Sometimes I find this referred to as a belay station and other times as as rappel station. As it can be used both on the way up and coming back down, is there a more neutral way to refer to it?

I wondering whether anchor station would be appropriate in all circumstances.

Thanks for your help and any further insight!

Thomas

mrphilipoldham 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Removed UserThomas Miles:

Personally I'd just refer to it as a belay, regardless of direction. "I'm not sure where the next belay is..." if I'm a little lost on the way up. "I'm not sure where the next belay is..." if I'm nearly out of rope abseiling on the way down! I'd also understand anyone saying anchor too, but wouldn't ever add station on to the end.

Post edited at 11:49
 chris_r 21 Jan 2021

British English - belay

US English -rappel 

Andy Hardy 21 Jan 2021

In ascent it would be a belay (or sometimes a stance). Rappel or abseil points would be for descent. Obviously you can retreat (normally by abseil) from a belay / stance in the event of an accident / storm etc

nikoid 21 Jan 2021

So much of this depends on context, I think if you want to be totally accurate, you may want to get a climber to check the final text, or excerpts of it.

As someone else has said the term "anchor station" is never used. Climbers would say "the anchors". Eg I'm at the anchors or I can see the anchors.