UKC

Coire Mhic Fhearchair (Far East Wall)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jon Stewart 18 Jun 2017
I've wanted to climb at this place for years, looks amazing. I'm prepared to do the driving at the drop of a hat if the conditions fall on the right day - so what do I need?

I imagine it's a heatwave only crag? The routes I'd like to do are Groovin' High and Angel Face - do they stay half-way dry during the summer, or how many days do they take to dry?

Any info to increase the chance of a successful mission to these routes much appreciated!
 DannyC 18 Jun 2017
In reply to Jon Stewart:

Hi Jon,

We did Angel Face during the late April dry spell and it was bone dry. I'm not an expert on the place but I'd say a couple of days after heavy rain at most during summer should be okay (it's v steep and the snow patch above has probably been gone for more than four months) I'd definitely want a breeze to ward off the midges. Amazing place.

Have fun,

D.
OP Jon Stewart 18 Jun 2017
In reply to DannyC:

Cheers, sounds quite hopeful!
 Andy Nisbet 18 Jun 2017
In reply to Jon Stewart:

It depends on the weather over a long period before. The rock dries very quickly but there is seepage which is the problem. It's rained a lot the last month so I think it might take a while. But then the previous 6 months were quite dry. So pluses and minuses. I would think a few dry days necessary (say a week), but then one day's rain shouldn't hold you back. Groovin' High is quicker than Angel Face though. Shame, it would have been dry the whole of May.
In reply to Andy Nisbet:

Thanks, really useful info. I'd totally forgotten that I even wanted to climb there and it just didn't cross my mind during the prolonged dry spell. Might be because here in the Lakes, when it was really dry it was also really cold and windy up on the fells so Scottish mountain crags never crossed my mind. But there are many years to go climbing ahead...