UKC

/ Old Timers anyone beat 50 years?

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
Chris Craggs - on 05 May 2018

Today I have been climbing with Colin (the Hat) Binks for 50 years - I took him up Lichen Slab and Birch Tree Wall, at Brimham, in his farm boots, on the 5th May 1968. Today we did half a dozen routes at La Roche de Rame, near Briançon. I wonder if there are are any other teams out there who can match or even beat us?

Must raise a glass this evening

Chris

alan moore - on 05 May 2018
In reply to Chris Craggs:

Well done Both!

Think I met Colin at Scugdale recently although didn't know it until he pointed out his picture was in the guidebook. Might be the most photographed climber in Britain thanks to your good self?

Ive been climbing with my Dad for 30 years, although that'd be 38 years if you count scrambling and hillwalking.

50 is a good old stretch.

Grumpy Old Man - on 05 May 2018

I first climbed with Chris Jackson at Stoney Middleton on 2nd September 1962, three and a half years after I started climbing in April 1959, and I last climbed with him last Monday!  On the first occasion I Ied him up Gabriel and Fingle's Flue, which was then graded V.Diff even though the chimney up into the roof was as greasy then as it is today! I have been raising a glsss almost every evening since 1962!

Post edited at 17:18
Chris Craggs - on 05 May 2018
In reply to Grumpy Old Man:

55+ years - nice one. Looks like we can't retire just yet then

Chris

Post edited at 17:45
rgold - on 05 May 2018

I've been climbing for 61 years but my longest partnership is a mere 47 years, so well done lads!

Mike Rhodes - on 05 May 2018