UKC

Please help me choose a rock!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Lozzy 08 Apr 2013
Hi all,

I'm planning on trying to raise money for charity and I think a sponsored rock climb would be great! If I try and raise money over the course of a year, it will help me to spread awareness of the charity and their cause, while also giving me (hopefully) ample time to train really hard. By the end of the year, I'd like to be able to do a climb that's currently way out of my ability and comfort zone, and have raised a ton of cash for the charity.

I'm still new to climbing and mostly boulder, but much prefer climbing with ropes (it's just more interesting to me)

I live near to the Roaches but for the 'big climb' at the end of the year's hard training, I don't mind where it is... very happy to travel.

So, I'm here hoping that one of you more experienced, knowledgeable climbers can help me work out where to do my 'big climb'? I like the idea of going high, great views, something which requires more technical ability rather than strength and that I may have a chance of being able to complete after a year's dedicated training!

Bit of a long shot then, perhaps! But any suggestions?
 Roberttaylor 08 Apr 2013
In reply to Lozzy: If you live near to the roaches go and look at the crag. There is a route there called the sloth. It is very impressive looking and an achievable goal.
 Jon Stewart 08 Apr 2013
In reply to The Pylon King:
> (In reply to Lozzy)
>
>
> http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/c.php?i=3191
>
I'd been climbing nearly 10 years before I climbed that one. But that's certainly not to say it can't be done, I'm sure a few people do it in their first year of climbing.

It's certainly classic, spectacular and often in condition though, so if the OP fancies it and can dedicate enough time...

To the OP: