UKC

Quick draw unclipping from bolt

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mattwaltno123 05 Sep 2022

I was on a sport climb the other day, took a whip and managed to bend the gate out on the quickdraw and it then came unclipped. I was fine and just fell down to the next draw. Any ideas how this could have happen? See pictures

Wil Treasure 05 Sep 2022
In reply to Mattwaltno123:

The dent in the gate suggests it took the load on its side with the gate open, which would push it sideways around the nose. What sort of bolt was it?

NaCl 05 Sep 2022

I'm no expert (at anything) but in the first pic there's scarring on the side of the nose of the biner. It looks to me like the biner could have got pulled at an angle sideways hard enough to let the gate open and pop through the gap maybe? 

That's a complete guess though so feel free to ignore/laugh/deride or all three.

edit: snap - Not just me thinking that then

Post edited at 21:02
OP Mattwaltno123 05 Sep 2022
In reply to Wil Treasure:

It was a petzl bolt hanger but it was oriented fully horizontal not the 45° they usually are. I think because I clipped over the top of the bolt the gate was the rock side and caused it to torque sideways in the bolt?

TobyA 05 Sep 2022

I've got mates who have done this. Did the bolt-end krab come completely off the bolt or did the tape slide off open gate of the bolt-end krab leaving the top krab on the top bolt? I know of cases of each. From the position of the gate I suspect it's more likely you fell when somehow the sling was on the gate of the krab, that opened it and wrenched the gate open, but in that case I would expect the bolt end krab would have stayed on the bolt or fallen to the floor, while the tape and rope-end krab would have still been on the rope?