UKC

Subluminal and lighthouse cliff abseil

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 SarahJ 20 Jun 2019

Hi everyone, 

I’d like some advice on the belay stakes at subliminal and lighthouse cliff crags. I’m new to abseiling into sea cliffs and a little nervous trusting the stakes, can anyone tell me how safe they are etc? 

I’m hoping to get a few sea cliff climbs in, especially Avernus, has anyone climbed it? What’s the ab in like? Any advice and handy tips would be appreciated.

Thanks 

Sarah Subluminal and Lighthouse Cliff 

Post edited at 19:53
In reply to SarahJ:

Hi Sarah, they're fairly new and banged in pretty well. If you're worried you can equalise two with your rope and then ab. If you're confused on how to do this PM me and I can explain.

Kevster 20 Jun 2019
In reply to SarahJ:

Most of the stakes are a little back from the edge. You can inspect and pull them first before committing if that helps with the concern.  Subluminal, you'll possibly find someone else is using them already, so they are weight testing for you. 

In reply to SarahJ:

It’s been a while, but don’t you just scramble round to Avernus from the normal abseil? It’s good fun but I’m not sure how anyone who’s nervous about the ab would manage on the scramble.

jcm

OP SarahJ 22 Jun 2019
In reply to SarahJ:

Thanks for all the advice guys, it’s all very helpful and good to know the stakes are good!

Chris Sansum 23 Jun 2019
In reply to SarahJ:

Yes, you scramble down to Avernus from the normal abseil - an easy down-climb. Make sure you are heading towards low tide as the approach gets washed by the sea. And bear in mind the route is always wet! Unusual climbing but good fun. The first time I wandered down to it I was intimidated out of doing it just by the look of it, but it is surprisingly doable once you just get started. A memorable experience. Probably one for a warm day...

scott titt 23 Jun 2019
In reply to SarahJ: