UKC

Swanage / Portland routes for small kids

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pottsy84 02 Sep 2020

Hi all, 

Been reading a while but first-time post - be gentle! Looking for recommendations for kid-friendly lines in Dorset, our 4yr old has really started to enjoy the climbing wall post-lockdown and had her first outdoor experience on the lower tier at Dancing Ledge at the weekend (ascent good, not so much a fan of descending!), are there any other crags in the area with suitably short reaches for sprogs? Bolted only please, I have zero trad experience so no immediate intentions to hang her off anything that I have to place!

Thanks

Chris

mutt 02 Sep 2020
In reply to ceejasix:

There aren't many child friendly venues that come to (my) mind, first would be the lower tier of Dancing Ledges. The approach is easy enough but you'll need to keep a tight grip as there are plenty of vertical drops. The routes are all top ropeable, holes have been drilled at the top rather than the usual stakes or lower offs. You can thread slings and top rope from below like you would at the climbing wall.  

The other place known for child friendly climbing is Godnor on Portland. However these routes are steep and I think they need an adult to climb/lower off the anchors at the top which might give logistical problems if you don't have a climbing partner with you.  The Cuttings has some easier routes but again the anchors need to be clipped from below.

And there is a big slab fallen block somewhere on Portland down by the sea but I haven't been there myself. 

Eager to hear of any other venues (my son is 10) that others can recommend.

scott titt 02 Sep 2020
In reply to Pottsy84:

Hedbury has some really easy routes bolted with children in mind

Very Ordinary Route (2a)

Post edited at 10:25
 mutt 02 Sep 2020
In reply to Pottsy84:

seacombe gets a write up 'ideal choice for a hard pressed climber with a family'