UKC

why am I not improving

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 andy28th 15 Mar 2014
Hi, I have been climbing regularly for about 9 months now and for last 4 months have been training indoors about 4 times a week. I have noticed a huge improvement in my stamina and endurance, but for some reason i haven't been able to climb any harder. my limit seems to be 6b+ on lead and around V3 boulder. Can anyone give me some advice on how to progress?
 Jon Stewart 15 Mar 2014
In reply to andy28th:

Sounds like the kind of level you may well plateau at if you keep doing the same thing.

So, you could either decide what you want to improve and train that specifically (e.g. fingerboard for bouldering, or redpointing for indoor routes), or you could go climbing outside as much as possible and put to use the strength and stamina you've got from the indoor training. I'd suggest that at this time of year, focusing on getting out and doing some good routes would be more rewarding than trying to get higher grades indoors?
 Kevster 15 Mar 2014
In reply to andy28th:

Experience counts. That means volume of climbs and attempts.
Most of the fun is in learning and getting better. Enjoy.
 MischaHY 15 Mar 2014
In reply to andy28th:

Welcome to the plateau. Most folks hit it around 6c, and it takes a while to push through, and change in what you're doing each session. Have a look at a few articles on how to take your climbing to the next level, different exercises etc. My top tip would be to boulder more, the stronger you are in bouldering the more you'll be able to push yourself on the routes.
 MischaHY 15 Mar 2014
In reply to Jon Stewart:

Not specifically directed at you, but there is no way that someone who is climbing V3 should be going anywhere near a fingerboard. IMO anyone climbing under Font 7b doesn't need to go anywhere near them and will only end up injuring themselves in the long run.
 Justin T 15 Mar 2014
In reply to andy28th: