UKC

Advice on gaining ownership of my running pls

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
S.A.Airgid 23 Jun 2020

TLDR: How do I gain some ownership over my own running when my partner is very controlling about how I/we train? 

The long read:
My boyfriend and I have been running together for a 5 years, mainly trail and fell running. We've done some trail marathons and four ultra marathons (three >100km and one <100km) together so far. 

He has been into running all his adult life, mostly road marathons and the odd 10k. Before we got together I was more of a mountaineer. I would run the occasional 10k with friends but did not take running seriously. I have been happy to receive advice on my running as he has more experience. However, the mood and tone of his advice has changed. He could be a bit unkind in the past but now he has started to knit pick at me constantly when running together which makes it stressful. 

When I run alone he quizzes me on everything the moment I come through the door. Mainly it is speed. He expects me to run every run at a slow, ultra running pace (11-12min miles). I do think this makes lots of sense for longer training runs on challenging terrain, however he expects this even for a 3 mile run. So if I come in from a short run and have done a 7 min mile he gets very aggressive and heavily critical. This is irksome given that when I run alone I just want to enjoy the run because as far as I am concerned I should be allowed to have the odd fun little run. He even demands to look at my watch to check what I have done. In addition, during events we are pretty even in how we cope and both of us have always finished well within cut offs. So I not sure why he feels this is necessary.