UKC

Foggy Winter Fell Running

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 c line 26 Dec 2018

I'm rather new to fell running but generally consider myself to be an adept backpacker, even if my sense of direction is a bit shite.

I've been playing around on my own but basically I cannot figure out: how ON EARTH do people manage to navigate through the fog/mist on nonexistent trails in v. cold conditions? I've had to turn back a couple times now after almost getting lost and getting soaked half through. Apart from better gear, which I'm working on, how can I navigate more efficiently so that I don't get lost at night in the Cumbrian winter  

Gear: compass, waterproof map, garmin watch, trail shoes, trail pack and unreliable rain jacket

Any advice or criticism welcome!! Merry xmas one and all  

PaulTclimbing 26 Dec 2018
In reply to c line:

Do good weather races.  Follow the ones in front. Do circular routes. They'll then be variations of N=0, E -90, s-180 and w-270. all variations in between. Practice that, should cover it but no guarantees. Or GPS watch. you can retrace your steps if lost with find my way back facility.

Removed User 26 Dec 2018
In reply to c line:

I often found it useful to ID the local clubs  vest and follow one of them.........

OP c line 26 Dec 2018

Yes and yes. These are both great. But the thing is, I can already run in good conditions, I know how to follow people in front of me, etc. My problem is going from this to tougher conditions! Like, are there techniques etc I am completely oblivious to or does it just come in time? I don't want to have to rely on other people or good weather to run!

Dave Todd 27 Dec 2018
In reply to c line: