UKC

Marathon in 3 months...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jim Houghton 31 Jan 2023

Hi all,

I've just been offered a London Marathon Place this morning. I've wanted to do a marathon for ages and this would work well for various reasons so I've said yes. I've never done a marathon before but have done a bunch of half-marathons, trail and road. Currently, I'd probably be able to do a half-marathon fairly comfortably in 1:35 or so but I'm only really doing 35k a week running... Max I've ever run in a single outing is 30k, but that was mainly in the hills.

Questions:

1) What sort of pace do you think I should be aiming for? I'm hoping I might go sub-4 hours...is this realistic at this notice?

2) Any suggestions on how quickly/much to increase weekly mileage?

Thanks all!

Paul Sagar 31 Jan 2023
In reply to Jim Houghton:

There are loads of sensible marathon training plans out there, just google around and find one you think can suit your schedule.

Given your fitness background, 3 months is entirely do-able if you stick to the training plan you pick.

FWIW I only ever did 1 marathon (that was plenty for me, thanks). I'm a slow runner by nature, but managed 3h43m (it really clicked for me on the day). If you can do a half in 1:35 then sub-4 hour is definitely achievable for you. Maybe even go for sub 3:30.

john arran 31 Jan 2023

The HUGE difference I found between half and full marathon wasn't pace or even legs, it was food. I simply wasn't practised in eating while running and it took embarrassingly long to realise that was the problem.

I'd recommend starting very soon to experiment with gels or other snacks, to find what works for you and to accustoming your stomach to digesting stuff while running at a decent whack.

wbo2 31 Jan 2023