UKC

New trail runner help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Benbarden 15 Dec 2019

Hi all I'm new to running and mostly doing trail did my first 20km this weekend and have a few questions 

1 how do u dry your shoes I no u can fill them with news paper or leave them in the sun (live in uk so what sun) but do the shoe dryers work the ones that you plug in 

2 I need to carry water next time I run what do people think of vests vs belts needs to have room to carry water phone keys gels for the day 

Thanks 

girlymonkey 15 Dec 2019
In reply to Benbarden:

I use a plug in shoe dryer, it's excellent. Some are crap though, do your research.

I also stick my shoes through the wash very regularly. People will tell you this can ruin them, I see no evidence of that at all but it does make the shoes much nicer to put on and stops them becoming really nasty.

I have a very small (4 litre I think) camelback rucksack. I don't use the bladder in it, I found it really sweaty on my back with the bladder. I stick a small bottle in it, a small goretex jacket and a few other we essentials depending on where I am going and what conditions I am expecting.

Glad you are enjoying it! I had a good snowy run last week in the ochils 😊

OP Benbarden 15 Dec 2019
In reply to girlymonkey:

Gr8 will have a look at the dryers try to find a good one 

I have a small camel back but dont like the bumping about may try it again and see if I can make it work but also like the idea of not having to stop to get stuff out 

Ridge 15 Dec 2019
In reply to Benbarden:

I was given an electric shoe dryer as a present a couple of years ago, and it's brilliant at this time of year.

I prefer just dunking my trainers in warm soapy water after a run and rinsing them rather than using a washing machine.

I use an innov8 race vest in preference to a bumbag as it distributes the weight, particularly  water, much better.