UKC

Plea for help - Runners Shin Splints

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 running123 27 May 2023

Hi everyone,

I’m hoping the collective wisdom of UKC can help a frustrated runner with advice regarding shin splints please?

I’ve been running for two years and was gradually building my mileage and elevation gain and hitting the trails in anticipation of a mountain ultra marathon. However, in February I made the classic training error of too much load through a combination of distance, gain and weight training. My final pre-injury week was 50 miles with 2500m of climbing – and then the dreaded shin issues started.

Since February I’ve tried to keep going with some exercise, from trying a couple of runs (Feb/Mar), jumping on a spin bike (not for me), some walks/short hikes (1-2x per week), strength training (2x per week) and calf work (~4x per week) – but the issue is still there. I also even took 3 weeks off walking/hiking entirely recently to no avail. I’ve not even been bouldering since Feb ☹.

The issue has moved around my legs from day to day, week to week – One day it’s the left leg, next day the right. One day a ‘spot’ of tenderness on the inside of the tibia, a few days later that’s gone and now there is a burning sensation in various different areas of the shin, then the ‘spot’ comes back. Back in Feb it was more a deep calf ‘ache’, now more tingling/pins and needles in various areas of the lower leg. Sometimes the issue is there, other times not. Sometimes a 2hr hilly walk can be fine, other times a 10 min walk sets it off. Some times even after days of doing nothing I’ll get persistent lower leg burning when sat down at work. The issue seems random, it moves about, and I can’t pin down a clear pattern.