UKC

Resuming marathon training after injury

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jdh90 08 Sep 2020

Hi hivemind, seeking the wisdom from those hardened distance runners who have been through the wringer.

I started training for my first marathon mid way through lockdown to give structure to keeping fit. I was following a 16 week plan from runners world.  The old excuse of not having time to train for it had evaporated, needed something to keep me active, liked the idea of running one before my 30th at the end of this month.

I was reaching the last two weeks of the plan when it starts to taper, when I rolled an ankle on a fell run. Self diagnosed a sprain, maybe a class 2 as I thought I felt a tear and quite a bit of pain but wasnt totally incapacitated.  Hobbling for a week, it still twinges if I stretch my foot into that rolled over position.

Ive had three and a bit weeks of rest, feeling like I can get back into it. 6k tester jaunt at easy pace the other night felt totally fine.

My question is, where should I expect to be now weekly mileage wise? From both angles of safely continuing recovery and I've done no real cardio for three weeks.

Is it reasonable that I could be doing the marathon in another three weeks?  This is just a personal achievement thing, no race, do my aspirations seem sensible or should I be adjusting them a little further into the future?

Before the tumble, I did three 20milers inside 3hours (but not pacing or fuelling well and hitting the wall from about 16). I was gunning for 3.45 or faster for the marathon to equal a time my girlfriend did a few years back, and it was almost starting to feel achievable by the last one.

Welcome your thoughts and experiences, thanks.

wbo2 08 Sep 2020
In reply to jdh90: given that being overtrained is a bigger problem than undertraind go for it.  Follow the last three weeks of the schedule, but maybe add a little more in the middle week. 

PPP 08 Sep 2020
In reply to jdh90: