UKC

Tired/achey/spasmy lower back

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Herdwickmatt 12 Jun 2022

So I've done a few ultras recently, Kielder 50k/Cairngorms 60k, and have found that after about 35-40k my lower back really begins to ache and can cause my abs to start to cramp. I'm going to see a physio but anyone here have any suggestions? I'd say my core strength is good but often find I have an achey stiff back when I wake up. I'm 36 so would like to try and sort it sooner rather than later. 

In reply to Herdwickmatt:

Hi,

I'm a strength coach that works with Mountaineers.

I use to have this issue after doing long mountaineering days carrying a heavy pack. In general, that amount of mielage will cause tightness and stiffness regardless, but if you work on mobility and strength outside of the event you'll find it's not as bad.

I suggest you have a daily mobility routine for the lower and upper back. A few exercises I do are "Lumbar rocking, Cat-camels, Lying windmills, Thoracic extension on a foam roller".

I made a video on my YouTube channel that goes through a few of these, link below:

youtube.com/watch?v=dAtcm61XGew&

You should also supplement the mobility exercises with a strength routine that includes Deadlifts, Row variations, LAT Pulldowns (or Pull-ups) in order to also strengthen your back. All done with the right technique of course

Good luck!

Marek 15 Jun 2022

Further to the good post above...