UKC

What's running in tights/long-johns + shorts like

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 28 Mar 2018

I'm contemplating doing an 18 mile walk/hike and running parts of it - which I've never done before intentionally - on a normal hike I'd wear some loose flexible Rab trousers which are nice and comfy and keep me warm enough. 

I always see these hardy fell-runners wearing tights and running shorts... what's that like? I've got some tight long-john thermal type things so I was thinking about following suit and wearing them with some running shorts, but I don't want to get 10 miles round a freezing wet Kinder and regret it, especially as I may run only parts of it, maybe 5-10 miles at most probably. 

I've always thought tight bottoms like that would squash the hair on my legs and therefore reduce some thermal blanket like property hairy legs might provide?!

The New NickB 28 Mar 2018
In reply to elliot.baker:

Running tights are very different to thermals, they are more windproof and move better, Ron Hills may be a compromise, although note that even Ron doesn’t wear these any more. Shorts over tights is just wrong in every way.

Trangia 28 Mar 2018
In reply to The New NickB:

>  Shorts over tights is just wrong in every way.

And looks faintly ridiculous.......

Post edited at 10:03
 Neil Williams 28 Mar 2018

Shorts over tights basically aren't noticeable.  People just do that for modesty reasons though not everyone does (it to some extent depends on how revealing the tights are and how bothered they are about that).

The reason for wearing that kind of kit running is to avoid chafe, basically.

As for how warm they are, they vary, but I'm one of those people who will wear shorts until it gets very cold indeed so I don't feel qualified to judge   You can get thermal versions, though, I have a Skins top like that and I very rarely wear it as it needs to be well below zero before it doesn't make me way too hot when moving.