UKC

Why are my feet suddenly falling apart?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 neuromancer 30 May 2021

I got back into trail running after Christmas as a knee injury kept me off the bike. I took it steady, but ended up clocking between 50 and 70k a week. Nothing longer than 40k. No issues with feet. I'm an army officer, and haven't had a single blister in 8 years of running around in boots.

I went away with work and could only run once a week. Since I've come back I have started again, and my feet are falling apart.

Distance not extreme (couple of 10-20k runs a week) in the same shoes (pretty new, not tight, comfortable Salomon's). Same socks, similar terrain.

Every run I have a black toe, a blister in-between a toe, blister under my forefoot, blisters under my bloody toe. 

I can't even get a climbing shoe on anymore! It's now becoming the limiting factor in my running. 

Any ideas? 

VictorM 30 May 2021
In reply to neuromancer:

Did these issues also come up with other shoes or have they started after switching shoes?

Sealwife 30 May 2021
In reply to neuromancer:

Might you have a fungal infection which is making your skin more prone to injury?

Any other factor which has changed your gait thus making your shoes fit differently?

bouldery bits 30 May 2021
In reply to neuromancer:

Have you had any dietary changes? What you eat can have an impact in my experience. 

I hope it gets back to normal soon. 

OP neuromancer 30 May 2021
In reply to VictorM:

Whilst away I ran in the road equivalent - Sonic Accelerates Vs my trail shoes which are Sense Pro's. 

No change in gait, I run pretty forefoot and have for years. I still have lots of space in front of my toes (thumbs width) in my shoes. 

Infection is an interesting idea - but no dramas aside from running. I've got back on the bike and had no issues with redness / soreness / itchiness or anything else.