UKC

Anyone have knowledge of ski resort operations??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 fenski 20 Feb 2022

Hi, 

Looking to PM with someone who has generic knowledge on resort operations, particularly on costs and liabilities for running a ski resort. 

I'm looking into putting together a bid for a community owned ski resort, but it's a business I have no direct experience of, hence looking for some basic info to get a better understanding of how the industry works.

Thanks 

Neal 

Post edited at 15:15
 ablackett 21 Feb 2022
In reply to fenski:

I know a chap who is (perhaps) chairman of the Weardale ski club, if that is the sort of thing you have in mind, as opposed to a big operation, send me a few details of your questions and I’ll see if he minds being in touch.

OP fenski 21 Feb 2022
In reply to ablackett:

Thanks for your reply, but I'm thinking small resort in the alps. 

yorkshireman 21 Feb 2022
In reply to fenski:

> Thanks for your reply, but I'm thinking small resort in the alps. 

Do you have a particular place in mind?

I used to live in La Jarjatte which is a small, council-run set of lifts in the Drôme, southern French Alps. From what I remember they regularly lost around €200,000 per annum according to their annual reports. To paraphrase I think Richard Branson, the best way to become a millionaire is to start as a billionaire and buy a ski resort.

My local lifts are now a substantially bigger operation, Villard-Corrençon, where Tony Parker (former NBA player) recently bought a big stake with the view to turning it into a 365-day per year operation which I think is essential now with the way winters are going.

ExiledScot 21 Feb 2022
In reply to yorkshireman: