UKC

Beginner Alpine Touring - Buy or hire?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 NeilOMalley 10 Jan 2014
Hi all.

A friend and myself are very keen to broach the world of alpine touring, we both ski already and are looking to increase the range of possibilities. As ski touring is completely new to both of us understanding the options is a bit confusing. Buying the touring setup outright seems to cost between £500-750 for a half decent first or second hand setup, does this sound correct? Also we are just on our way to the three valleys ski resort next week and are curious if we'll be able to hire the full setup including the skins from a hire shop to try it out? Also does anyone know of a good resource i.e. books or maps illustrating the tracks and passes recomended for ski tourers in the three valleys area. Finally is there anything else we should be aware of as total beginners? We eventually hope to combine the touring with the mountaineering to access more of the back country.
Thanks
kmulvany 10 Jan 2014
In reply to NeilOMalley:

It makes sense to buy the touring kit to start with, renting costs a lot. Not sure where the three valley resort is that you are referring to but there are two main things you need to think of, avalanche risk and cravasess. You should at least carry a transceiver, shovel and probe and also know how to use it. It is quite an expensive sport and dangerous, so you should probably try it first before committing.
 John Ww 10 Jan 2014
In reply to NeilOMalley:

Your estimate of costs may well be very low if you include skis, touring bindings, touring boots, poles, skins, harscheisen, transceiver, shovel, probe,etc. If you add an ABS rucksack,the numbers will give you a nosebleed! Having said that, it's much like climbing gear, in that once you've got it, all you need to pay for is transport.

Hth, JW
 OwenM 10 Jan 2014
In reply to NeilOMalley: