UKC

Cross Country Skiing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 supersteve 11 Feb 2023

Heading out to Val D'Isere in a couple of weeks, and following a horrific road bike accident in the summer I'm not too keen on just downhill piste, so fancy trying cross country as they have a few tracks. I know I can hire the skis, but can I just wear my normal ski boots or would I hire boots too? Any tips anyone have for a first time. I spoke to to ski school to see if I could have an instructor for half a day but they are fully booked as expected. So I will be self taught....should be fun

Doug 11 Feb 2023
In reply to supersteve:

You'll need to hire boots as well - completely different type of bindings, ski sticks are also much longer so you'll probably have to hire those as well. You'll also be asked if you want classic (pas alternative in French) or skating skis, the former is easier to get started (a gentle plod will work even though not very efficent or elegant) although not easier to do properly. Skating is faster & the skis glide better on the downhills but needs a minimum of technique even to get moving. But if you've downhill skied before maybe you already know how to skate on skis ?

If you can't join a class it'll probably help to look at some instructional videos, never looked but I suspect there's many on Youtube.

Post edited at 13:12
 TobyA 11 Feb 2023
In reply to supersteve:

By normal ski boots I take it you mean downhill boots? In which case absolutely not! XC skis are normally about 5 cms wide and the "boots" are much closer to running shoes than they are to downhill ski boots.