UKC

Learning to Ski for Ski Mountaineering

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JFort 05 Nov 2012
I've been snowboarding for the last 9 years on and off, I can link my turns down a red run on a good day. I love it but I'm looking to learn to ski as the hubby and I would really like to get into ski mountaineering. Living in Scotland we can see such great opportunities to explore the hills on skis and just can't wait until we have the training and experience to get out there.

So, my question is; as a snowboarder but a total novice skier where is the best position to start, in a total beginners group lesson, maybe an intermediate group lesson or a private lesson in the morning with time to practice in the afternoon? It's most likely to be at Aviemore or the Nevis Range so any advise on which ski schools to go with would be appreciated too.
 DaveHK 05 Nov 2012
In reply to JFort:

In terms of location do it wherever the cover / conditions are best so that you can focus on the skiing rather than avoiding the rocks.
Shearwater 05 Nov 2012
Not considered splitboarding?
OP JFort 05 Nov 2012
In reply to DaveHK:

Of course! It's just that these two are easy for us to get to and the husband is going to be off winter climbing while I'm skiing so we have to go somewhere to do both.
OP JFort 05 Nov 2012
In reply to Shearwater:

Yup, we have and looked into it but are still unsure. Apart from it being sooo expensive to buy a split board, not that skis are much cheaper I'm sure, but I'm not sure if I could be bothered with all the faff. You just know that there will be one bit where it goes flat or down and then up enough for you to warrant splitting the board again to get going, while everyone on skis copes with it a lot better. We thought of making our own split boards too but this seems like quite a mission. Do you use one, if so how do you get on with it?
 kevin stephens 05 Nov 2012
In reply to JFort: