UKC

Poor, stuck in Switzerland, learn to ski

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 tomaspkr 27 Oct 2020

I'm working remotely from Switzerland with a UK PhD stipend, half of which goes to the UK.

Want to learn how to ski (never skied), would be even willing to buy skis/boots. Checked a few websites and instructors here can charge around £500 for private lessons! That's half of my monthly stipend for one days lessons.

If you were a broke student wanting to learn skiing in Switzerland, how would go about it?

Should I just accept that lessons are too expensive, splurge on skis and just learn based on YouTube videos?

Richard Horn 27 Oct 2020
In reply to tomaspkr:

Thats quite expensive, but probably in the same order as what I have paid a guide for a days guiding (though usually split between a group)

A group lesson should be much cheaper - not sure you need to be going with one-on-one when you first start?

I have been skiing for 30+ years, but am a complete novice at snowboarding, I have tried a few times to learn snowboarding on my own and got nowhere!

MG 27 Oct 2020
In reply to tomaspkr:

You don't need a full day's lesson. In fact that's far too long. A couple of hours will be knackering to begin with. Then mix the odd hour or so with lots of practice without instruction. 

summo 27 Oct 2020
In reply to tomaspkr:

I'd work on initially having a couple of hours to give you the basics, those will enable you to stop, steer and use the lifts. Then it's all about mileage, with lessons now and then. Combine the practical lessons with some online stuff, nothing beats real lessons but the videos will remind you of the tips and pointers, plus lots of good drills to do when training. 'Ski school by elate media' are one of the better ones.