UKC

Skiing + Northern Lights

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Cthulhu 25 Sep 2012
So - a bit of a big ask,I think, but I'm trying to pit together a family ski holiday for:

Mini-mi (12 years old, confident on red runs, just starting blacks),
T'other half (complete novice), and
Myself (happy on most blacks, as long as they're not icy or just endless bumps).

We'd also like to see the Northern Lights!

Ideas for decent Scandinavian resorts, preferably family-oriented and not rowdy/full of p*ssheads?

Thanks in advance!
 JuneBob 25 Sep 2012
In reply to Cthulhu:
I live 2hrs from Åre (Biggest resort in Scandinavia I think) and Oppdal (Biggest resort in Norway) and was here all last winter and have skied at both. I love it here, but I go touring and mainly ski off-piste.

If you're really set on going to Scandinavia, then Åre is the best for your needs (You'll want to avoid this club and it's surrounds: http://www.bygget.se/ - I loved it though ). Don't go to Oppdal, it won't suit your needs.
You'll need to be lucky to see the Northern lights, I only saw them 2 times last winter, although once was while driving home from Åre.

Here's a reasonable review:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/snowandski/7241887/Skiing-Is-re-in-Sweden...
But last season wasn't great and the mountains were fairly windswept, with the upper lifts often closed. I also found the reds and blacks hardpacked due to the wind, so not pleasant skiing; Having said that it's quite sheltered in the trees, and you could have a play on the off-piste as it's much easier to ski if the pistes are worn. The beginner slopes are very pleasant, and there's plenty of nice on-piste restaurants.
 Scomuir 26 Sep 2012
In reply to Cthulhu:
Can't guarantee the northern lights, but Trysil in Norway is an excellent little resort.
 TobyA 26 Sep 2012