UKC

Advice on how to make a living in climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Greetings from Glasgow,

I'm 28 and I've been climbing for about 3 years now, seem to be the only one in my group that is obsessed with all things climbing. 

I've ticked a few things off my beginners list, learned to lead, climbed outdoors, climbed abroad and I'm floating around 6b+/6c+. Next on the list is climb 7a and learn trad for the summer.

Basically I want to do this as a career, in almost any capacity. I'm currently a postie, and although it keeps you fit and it's relatively good money, it's boring as f*ck and I've lost all interest.

I'd gladly sacrifice my good wage to be able to do something I truly love.

I'm considering doing a CWA course and learning to instruct, but i feel to really progress there's so much more to learn than that.  

This is a call to anyone who has previously followed a similar path and can help a hungry guy out!

Apologies if I sound naive at all, I don't really have anyone to chat to about this stuff other than the folk who work at my local gyms and they always look busy.

Thanks in advance!

Sean

Kemics 21 Jan 2018
In reply to Terminaldystopia:

I would suggest that working near people climbing, is not the same as actual climbing. Similarly rope access stuff using climbing equipment isn’t actual climbing either. If you want to do as much climbing as possible, I would find a profession with super flexible working hours and then live in a van and climb all the time Sorry that’s shit advice. 

The most successful climbibg life ive seen are friends who do computer programming type jobs, they work solely online. Then they live in Thailand with a good internet connection, incredible quality of life and work 2 or 3 days while climbing the rest. Also flying off to other sport climbing destinations in SE Asia. Only stated downside is waking up at unsocial hours for the odd Skype call! 

Post edited at 20:42