UKC

Beginners Trad climbing.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
gabull 24 Feb 2013
I have been climbing indoors for about 6-7 months, i enjoy longer 5+ routes and am capable of 6a-6b's and been climbing a fair bit on lead. managed to get out to climb on abit of sand stone around Tonbridge wells at the end of last summer. I am really looking forward to some nicer weather to get out side again, and really want to do abit of trad climbing, i have started building up a rack but my question is where to go??????? i live near Gatwick airport (south of London) and have no clue where's best for a beginner to head to for some easy grade trad climbing to get a real feel for what its like. any help and advise would be much appreciated, cheers.
 tehmarks 24 Feb 2013
In reply to gabull:

The southern sandstone isn't suitable for leading on and all has bolted anchors for toprope - so you won't need a rack, just a few slings and maybe a short length of static rope for rigging. It's not really trad climbing.

If you're still interested, pick up a copy of the guidebook and have a look at what's on offer.

If you're more interested in getting on some actual trad, the SW isn't too far away and is easily accessible by public transport.
 Bruce Hooker 24 Feb 2013
In reply to tehmarks:

> If you're more interested in getting on some actual trad, the SW isn't too far away and is easily accessible by public transport.

I don't know where you mean but Cornwall is about the longest run from London, N Wales or the Lakes are quicker. The nearest would be the Avon Gorge or Swanage but not too good for starting out! Cornwall is good from a climbing point of view but a long way. The Peak District is about the nearest to London but gritstone is an acquired taste