UKC

Bristly Ridge and scrambling grades

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Jackieboy95 07 Sep 2017
Hi, Newbie here so apologies for stupid question but what grade are scrambles in winter? If I go on UKC it says britly ridge is grade "II 2/3" Does the "II" mean it is a winter climb in winter or do the numbers just change to roman numerals for no good reason?
Cheers,
Jack
 afshapes 07 Sep 2017
In reply to Jackieboy95:

It's a standard grade II I would say ... completely different prospect to the summer version
 afshapes 07 Sep 2017
In reply to Jackieboy95:

The 2/3 is the tech grade similar to trad grading.
 Sean Kelly 07 Sep 2017
In reply to Jackieboy95:

Winter grades are much more variable, as it totally depends on snow conditions and weather. I did it once in a blizzard and very deep powder. Not an easy grade two romp!
Jackieboy95 07 Sep 2017
In reply to Sean Kelly:

So is it considered a climb or a scramble?
Jack
In reply to Jackieboy95:

Summer scramble, winter climb
Jackieboy95 07 Sep 2017
In reply to no_more_scotch_eggs:

At what point does a winter scramble become a winter climb? For example Crib Goch is a winter scramble and is grade 1. When does it stop being a scramble and become a climb?
In reply to Jackieboy95:
When it gets a winter climbing grade...

For a less facetious answer, you are incorrect about crib goch; it is graded I, a winter climbing grade. There is no separate grading for winter scrambles; most non-ice based winter climbs graded III or less are on ground that would be considered 'scrambling' territory in summer.

I suppose this reflects the greater seriousness of routes in winter to some extent- even grade I routes are likely to require the use of a range of mountain skills and judgement, with weather and short daylight hours a factor, making them a different proposition to many summer scrambles.