UKC

climber being lowered - their hands on or off rope?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 AAG353 05 May 2021

When lowering a climber should they be advised to keep their hands off the rope?  I was taught to do this (to avoid rope-rock injuries) but most peoples natural inclination is to grab the rope - I see lots of kids doing this at outdoor climbing sessions.  Does it matter?  I'm not a professional but want to instil good practice in my kids.

Cobra_Head 05 May 2021
In reply to AAG353:

It doesn't matter, obviously if they're gripping on tightly, it's an indication they're not quite happy with proceedings.

Arms free give more options if they start to swing around a bit, but I don't think I'd be insisting they do anything other than what feels right for them.

graeme jackson 05 May 2021
In reply to AAG353:

I'd have thought a least having one hand on the rope would stop you tipping upside-down.

Iamgregp 05 May 2021
In reply to AAG353:

A lot of kids and beginners do this as they're nervous and don't feel fully confident in the rope or harness, but as they get more and more experienced and confident you might find that they naturally stop doing it.

OP AAG353 05 May 2021
In reply to Cobra_Head:

I guess doing that so they feel happy and confident then encouraging to let go at a later time when less uncomfortable.

OP AAG353 05 May 2021
In reply to Iamgregp:

yes I have one that will happily let go, the other not keen at all...but as you say maybe that will come and I shouldn't bother too much at this stage.  I have seen nasty rope-rock injury but it was at the top of climb where climber grabbed rope where it came over edge.

protekh 05 May 2021
In reply to AAG353:

yes, i don't think it really matters. i think the most important thing is that whoever is on the rope is safe and comfortable. i've definitely done it plenty of times post a particularly hairy route.

Andy Gamisou 05 May 2021
In reply to AAG353: