UKC

Desk based exercise

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
UniClimber 03 Dec 2017
I have nowhere I can put a hangboard, however I do have a desk. The desk is about hip height. Can I hang off the desk as I would hang off a doorframe or something, with my feet stretched out in front of me, just resting on the floor. Will this be of any help trainingwise as I am unable to go climbing often. I've been climbing for almost two years so don't fancy any of the "you need to wait until you're stronger, beginners don't need deadhangs" stuff. The only reason it's in this forum is because a) I don't want t make an account and b) I'm just starting out in training
 Tobes 03 Dec 2017
In reply to UniClimber:

I think Damian Green has (allegedly) some advice on ‘desk based’ exercises.
 bouldery bits 03 Dec 2017
In reply to UniClimber:

You'll get good at hanging under your desk. I don't know if this will have any transferable benefit to your Climbing.
 alx 03 Dec 2017
In reply to Tobes:

> I think Damian Green has (allegedly) some advice on ‘desk based’ exercises.

Get a grip man!
willy 03 Dec 2017
In reply to UniClimber:

Yes, it'll help, better for your shoulders to than hanging straight down. To make it harder put your feet on a chair, or even one foot, which is good for core too, or add weight. Body position is like steep/roof climbing.
willy 03 Dec 2017
In reply to bouldery bits:

> You'll get good at hanging under your desk. I don't know if this will have any transferable benefit to your Climbing.

It'll be similarly transferable as hanging off a finger board; so quite a lot
 bouldery bits 03 Dec 2017
In reply to willy:

Yes, I hear it's what Ondra does.

Alex Megos' training program is entirely office chair based and Shauna Coxsey is now sponsored by IKEA as she spends her time deadlifting waste paper baskets.
 d_b 03 Dec 2017
In reply to UniClimber:

Not convinced by the hanging idea but you should be able to do bench dips from a desk.