UKC

Feet beyond help?!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Mrs Tetsuo 27 Sep 2017
Hi all! Brand newbie here ????

Iv been indoor climbing (mix of top rope and bouldering) casually for about 2 years. I'd say I am at about a 5a/b grade, depends on the day really!

I have a stage 4 bunion on my left foot and stage 1 on my right foot. In the past few months Iv found climbing increasingly difficult due to the pain it causes my feet. Generally its when I spend any increased time on my toes negotiating a move etc.

A recent visit to the podiatrist banned me from wearing regular climbing shoes because of the shape (if you have bunions you'll know!) and the lovely people at my climbing centre directed me towards approach shoes which I have now purchased.

Due to the thicker soles and different shape there are some holds (mainly chippy slippy ones) I just can't use anymore. I feel like I am fighting a losing battle and am now struggling to finish even a 4b/c.

Has anyone had similar experiences and can offer some advice?? I really don't want to quit but its starting to feel like the odds are against me ????

Thanks in advance!

Em ????
 Jon Greengrass 27 Sep 2017
In reply to Mrs Tetsuo:

Move away from the slabs and walls and onto steeper climbs where the foot holds will be larger for the same grade and it should be possible to climb in clumpy approach shoes. Short of getting a pair of custom made climbing shoes you will never be able to stand on tiny footholds again.
 MischaHY 27 Sep 2017
In reply to Mrs Tetsuo:

I've heard of people with similar issues who solved the problem by simply cutting a small hole in the shoe that allowed the bunion space. Perhaps this would be a good solution for you?
 Fiona Reid 27 Sep 2017
In reply to Mrs Tetsuo:
Would those shoes that have individual toes work for climbing? I know someone with a pretty big bunion that wears them (not for climbing, just walking etc) and says they are really comfy.
Post edited at 16:16