UKC

Fitness Training for climbing - complete beginner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Nathan Carlson 20 Jan 2018

Hello all!

So I'm a beginner to mountain climbing and I am wondering if anyone here can help me in regards to physical fitness?!?  I'm an Aussie currently living in the UK (moving to Cornwall in a couple of weeks ), done plenty of hiking in Australia and the US (Cascades) and plenty of hill walking in the UK.  I've been going to the gym five days a week too. 

In the gym, I've been doing a minimum of 1/2 hour cardio training every day (mostly treadmill but also stair mill and occasionally rowing machine).  I also devote two days a week to walking at a moderate pace on a treadmill with a steep incline for one hour, constant pace, without a pack for now - will start doing that when it comes time to do mountains.  On the days I do half hour of cardio, I've been doing strength training - I focus on my shoulders, back, core, chest, legs and arms, trying to up the weight every week.  Basically I train each muscle group once a week for now, in pairs (arms and legs, chest and back, shoulders and core - one pair a day, three days a week, with the aforementioned treadmill days in between.).

I'm just wondering if all the above is basically the right way to do it?  My eventual goal is to climb the Seven Summits before I'm 50 (I'm 33, age is no consideration for me.).  I also plan on climbing other mountains outside of the seven (Annapurna 1, Mt Hood, Mt Erebus, possibly K2 etc., also want to hike in Canada, Russia, Alaska etc.) and I want to be in the very best shape I can be for all this.  I'm giving myself a year of solid fitness training, and I'm going to Snowdonia this summer for some training courses and then Ben Nevis for my first peak late this year, and I'm hoping to climb Kilimanjaro next year as my first of the seven.  I'm leaving Denali and Everest til last.