UKC

Getting back into climbing after loss of partner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 noteviljoe 07 Mar 2021

Around 2011 I first started going climbing with my friend Tom. At that time we where both complete novices. We started indoors and then moved on to some outdoors.

For me life got in the way a bit, I had two young kids, and though at the start I was stronger that Tom he got more and more experienced especially at outdoors. He joined a club and got a bunch of trad gear. Still we would get out together at least every month or two (I wish it had been more now) for either climbing or scrambling or just adventures in the hills. He'd also graciously come out we me and my friends with our tiny kids on "prambling" adventures.

Last year Tom died in an accident coming from a summit in Scotland. I miss him more than anything and I miss the adventures we had.

I've not been climbing since. Obviously on top of Tom's death we've had Covid and lockdowns (so weird to think that he never new about Covid it seems so omipresent now). Also I separated from my wife so a hell of a year for emotional truma, lol.

No one will ever replace Tom for me but i would like to get back into climbing. 

Obviously lockdown isn't over yet but fingers crossed for the summer. I'm also a bit scared that I will have lost my nerve

I don't have any climbing partners. What do people suggest? Is it best to join a club? (I'm not sure how much time I could dedicate to a club). Or should I just try and get to look know people who climb some other way?

I live in Manchester. Before my work teaching in Nottingham went online I was also traveling back and forth across the Peak District quite a bit.

Some of my climbing is recorded in my log book thou haven't  added anything for a while.

Any more general tips about how to get back into things appreciated.

Post edited at 17:41
In reply to noteviljoe:

Good luck. You'll get there. Posting here is a good start!