UKC

How is climbing outdoor in winter?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Carmengr21 29 Nov 2012
Hello!

My name is Carmen Griborio, I am an architecture student in Cardiff University. I am designing this project about constructing a climbing wall in Cardiff near the bay, What do you think about climbing outdoors? I climb myself but I am from Venezuela, I have never done it in a climate like this! It is cold, the wind makes it more cold, and it also rains! but you are used to that..

Do you think that people would use it in winter with no problem? would they have to use gloves for this? I am used to climb with bare hands and apply powder on them.

Do you think that the biggest problem is the rain?

I just want your opinion!

Cheese Monkey 29 Nov 2012
In reply to Carmengr21: Rain and cold. If I was to go to an artificial wall I would go indoors over outdoors every time in winter.
 kwoods 29 Nov 2012
In reply to Carmengr21: Well Britain is covered in indoor walls becuase the weather is so pish. Winter can have it's upsides - a dry crag with cool rock and a breeze makes really good friction; but that's splitting hairs now. And you don't really need chalk.
 buzby 29 Nov 2012
In reply to Carmengr21: cant imagine it would be a hit with anyone, all the disadvantages of climbing outdoors in the winter and none of the advantages.
if i was on a wall id want to be warm and dry i suspect thats why most if not all climbing walls are indoors.also how would you light it when it gets dark at dinner time in the winter.
 Sharp 29 Nov 2012
In reply to buzby:
>...also how would you light it when it gets dark at dinner time in the winter.

Lights presumably, but I'm with you that it would be better indoors.
Carmengr21 29 Nov 2012
In reply to Cheese Monkey:

Yes I know what you mean! but, do you think you would do it in 'summer' when you have like 15°C?