UKC

Ice Tools

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Tony500 29 Oct 2013
Hi there... Looking some advice on what to buy and look for in ice tools...

I'm interested in a doing some winter mountaineering, ice climbing and in the feature alpine climbing.
I have been doing mountaineering for many years and training at the min on my ML and just registered on my SPA.
I have a lot to catch up and getting the hours and experience needed and learning new skills, the question I am asking is what advice would have on ice tools for climbing for someone new but also want within reason buying the best and something professional if you understand what I mean.

Thanks
T
In reply to Tony500: Petzl Quarks.
In reply to Tony500:

DMM Flys
 csw 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500:

People seem to be letting go of old style flys quite a lot - you wouldn't go far wrong with a pair - Nuptse 12 point crampons from CT are excellent value too
 SteveoS 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500:

Cheapest ones you can find
 scottie390 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500: DMM flys are heavy and out dated. Petzl Quarks are what i use for alpine climbing up to TD and scottish winter on V,5 with no problems what so ever.
Tony500 30 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500: hey thanks everyone for feedback
Tony500 30 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500: BD Vipers OR Petzl Quarks?????? What to think?

Thanks
 BnB 30 Oct 2013
In reply to Tony500:
> (In reply to Tony500) BD Vipers OR Petzl Quarks?????? What to think?
>
> Thanks

You can't go wrong with either. Go swing them both in a shop and see which you like the feel of best. I prefer the Quarks, which are also more flexible for mountaineering use being easier to disassemble to use as a plunging (shaft) rather than stabbing (pick) tool.