UKC

If you could ask an Instructor/Coach any question what would it be?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mark Reeves Global Crag Moderator 08 Jun 2022

So I am a mountaineering and climbing instructor, as well as having a MSc in Applied Sport Science. I have done a few coaching videos over the years, but I am starting to experiment with some live-streaming via facebook. At the moment I am just getting used to the technology, but I hope as it developed the stream will become more interactive, in that you can ask me a question live and via comments and I will attempt to answer it then or at a later date.

At the moment I am really looking for genuine questions so I can start with a few answers for the content. I will be looking in this and other forums for questions but feel free to email me or post the question below.

Pedro50 08 Jun 2022
In reply to Mark Reeves:

Which would offer the easiest gain for a keen beginner?

Losing weight, getting stronger or improving technique.

Of the three I know which one I always suggest.

montyjohn 08 Jun 2022
In reply to Mark Reeves:

Sorry, long one.

This this is more related to the applied sports science side of things.

I'd be interested to know some really simple exercises and a simple training programme to train your body to perform well for mountaineering.

So I'm thinking of methods of how to keep your exercises aerobic to increase performance from mitochondria and teach your body to metabolise fat stores etc but then also how to improve your VO2 max etc.

And then further to the above, what simple exercise to improve overall strength for mountaineering.