UKC

Instructor made a mistake

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Wigwam 25 Sep 2021

Hi, 

Took my daughter to her 3rd NICAS session today. Kids are aged 7-10. Just the 1 instructor to 6 kids. I'm relatively new to climbing myself, but noticed that she'd tied her fig. 8 knot incorrectly but the instructor didn't pick up on it. I pointed it out before she started to climb. The instructors response was 'i don't know what happened, it looked OK'  and re-tied. Just wanted some advice on whether to raise this with the wall, or should this be viewed as a one off occurence and matter dealt with. Thanks all. 

MisterPiggy 25 Sep 2021
In reply to Wigwam:

As a dad, I'd have been struggling not to thump him. You caught it, so your daughter was safe. But what if his lack of concentration extends to other parts of the lesson..?

Bring it up with the centre management - they need to know if their staff aren't top notch.

j

jimtitt 25 Sep 2021
In reply to Wigwam:

I'd raise the matter with the wall but more importantly with your daughter, she tied it wrongly. For the rest of her life there will not always be others there to correct her failings.

OP Wigwam 25 Sep 2021

Thanks to you both for the quick reply. I shall raise it with the wall. 

djwilse 26 Sep 2021
In reply to MisterPiggy:

> As a dad, I'd have been struggling not to thump him.

> j

Or punch her?! Gender of the instructor wasn’t specified.

whenry 26 Sep 2021
In reply to Wigwam:

How incorrect was it - was it just badly dressed, or was it fundamentally wrong? If it was just badly dressed and therefore looked a little wrong but was structurally sound, that's not really an issue.

Robert Durran 26 Sep 2021
In reply to whenry:

> How incorrect was it - was it just badly dressed, or was it fundamentally wrong? If it was just badly dressed and therefore looked a little wrong but was structurally sound, that's not really an issue.