UKC

Is a stopper knot necessary with a figure-of-8?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
derrick_farnell 15 Feb 2017
Hello

I'm relatively new to indoor climbing, and have the above question.

I use a stopper after my F8, but a friend argues that there's no benefit, because a correctly tied F8 won't come undone, and, in the case of an incorrectly tied F8, a stopper won't save you. They also point-out that you're less likely to miss an incorrectly tied F8 if you've only got the F8 to check, rather than two knots, and any loop between the two knots could snag on something.

I've read that if there's sufficient force on a F8, then it can repeatedly invert, and thereby 'move' along the rope in the direction of the loose end, and that a stopper would stop this from happening. However, I've also read that this inversion only happens if there's significant force in opposite directions on the 'two' ropes at the base of the knot, pulling the knot apart - which would presumedly not happen when someone falls off, given that there'll just be the single downward force of the climber's weight.

Is there any evidence that a mis-tied F8 with a stopper is stronger than a mis-tied F8 alone?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
 deepsoup 15 Feb 2017
In reply to derrick_farnell:

> ... but a friend argues that there's no benefit, because a correctly tied F8 won't come undone, and, in the case of an incorrectly tied F8, a stopper won't save you.

Your friend is partially right. With a correctly tied FoE, a stopper isn't really necessary as long as there's a reasonably long tail. It's considered good practice though, and if nothing else it does ensure a nice long tail.

The second part is incorrect - a stopper will save you if the FoE is incorrectly tied. The stopper will even hold you on it's own if the FoE is completely absent.