UKC

Looking for advice about the MCI

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hi all,

I'm a fairly newly qualified ML. I'm not doing any outdoors work at the moment because I'm still in another job but I'm planning on trying to pick up freelance work once covid is out of the way.

I've also been climbing for several years now, and although I'm only leading HVS I've been getting out on some fairly big and adventurous mountain crags. I feel pretty competent with my rope work. I'm an industrial climber so I've some vertical rescue experience from that and I am also a rope tech on my local MRT.

I'm thinking about doing the MCI training this year - partly thinking about employment for the future but also just for personal development. I enjoyed the process of the ML because it filled in a few gaps in my knowledge but mostly because I confirmed for myself that I was competent, if that makes sense.

On paper I have all the requirements to sign up for the MCI. But - should I be climbing harder? Should I do the RCI first? Should I be looking to get more paid experience as an ML before doing further qualifications?

Obviously its hard to answer these questions without knowing me personally. But any thoughts would be appreciated, particularly from people who've recently completed the MCI. I'd probably be doing it at PYB.

cheers

jezb1 19 Dec 2020
In reply to pancakeandchips:

I'm an MCI in North Wales and have done some videos on MCI stuff including this one:  youtube.com/watch?v=MnZdfgAbwAM&

Climbing HVS you'll be fine on the scheme, whilst plenty of people going through will be climbing harder, the VS pre requisite is all you need to tick (very comfortably).

We also run popular MCI taster courses that may be of interest
https://www.jbmountainskills.co.uk/instructor-training

Post edited at 09:47