UKC

Lowering off or abing off

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MattSW68 08 May 2018

Hi first time on any forum,

Please forgive me if I’ve posted this in the wrong place. So I have been climbing for quite a few years now and am taking some friends down to Dorset next bank holiday. Now I have always lowered off as I was shown from the appropriate point. I have been reading some post on You Tube from our American bretheren and they are all ranting and raving that you must ab off rather than being lowered. I can’t see that any significant extra wear is going to take place to rings for one lower off per climb. Are these yanks just being well err over cautious. 

Any thoughts on this 

Pedro50 08 May 2018
In reply to MattSW68:

They're called lower-offs. You lower off. 

spenser 08 May 2018
In reply to MattSW68:

The ethic depends on the area, in the UK it's almost all lower off (I don't know of any sport crags in the UK where it is abseil off, however there is probably some weird crag  somewhere in the UK). Some crags in the US are abseil only.

If you are climbing in a group and people are going to be either top roping or multiple people leading I would suggest that you should place a couple of opposing quickdraws on the anchor bolts to limit the wear on the lower off.

scott titt 08 May 2018
In reply to MattSW68:

The American's voted in Trump, and you still believe what they say? 

Just lower off, but top rope on your gear.

Post edited at 21:24
 abr1966 08 May 2018
In reply to MattSW68:

Do whatever you feel comfy with....there's always opinions on this forum as you'll see....some informed and some not! Enjoy your day!

OP MattSW68 08 May 2018
In reply to scott titt:

always Top on my own gear, but yes they voted for a Trump, sorry typo trump. Should have realised.

OP MattSW68 08 May 2018
In reply to Pedro50:

thats what I have always done, just wondered why the Elmers get so worked up about it.

oldie 08 May 2018