UKC

Novice climber North West keen to get climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 spacecadetjake 23 Feb 2013
Hi there,

I'm a 40 yr old novice looking for help with indoor/outdoor climbing. I've done some top roping with my wife at my local indoor wall. I've just come back from El Chorro where I did 4 days climbing. I managed to do some leading up to 6b, I also did a 4 pitch route, this was all with a guide. So I have a bit of an idea but I'm far from a climber.

I'm looking to climb and learn as much as possible as fast as free time/cash will allow.

I have a harness and shoes, I've just got a sling, some carabiners and a belay device. I'm trying to build my kit up but most importantly I'm keen and willing to learn.

If anyone can help with clubs,buddies,training or how to progress that would be really cool!

If anyone fancies a bit of a laugh at a chubby old geeza out of his depth send me a message.

Basically I just wanna climb so will take anything, sounds desperate maybe but there ya go I'm a wannabe climbing whore ha ha

Thanks in advance
Jake

alpinismo.uk 17 Mar 2013
In reply to spacecadetjake:

might be able to help, am able to take you and / or your partner out for a few days to give you some info on trad climbing if you are interested, lakes, or wales, as l will be heading down there a lot.
l have just finished work, and will be looking to climb with people for the next few months, prob best to give it a week or two for the weather to settle, then am on for getting out.

cheers deb
In reply to spacecadetjake: If you're ever in the North Wales area, drop me a message. I'd be happy to teach you the ways of the Trad Climber.

Rog Wilko 17 Mar 2013
In reply to spacecadetjake: You might benefit from joining a club.
http://www.lancashirecavingandclimbingclub.co.uk/home/ might suit you.
 Pero 17 Mar 2013