UKC

Single vs twin ropes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 matt1024 07 May 2012
I'm a beginner trad climber just starting out and I have a question regarding ropes to use outdoors. I have a single 60m 10.2mm rope for use on sport routes and indoors at the gym although I've heard twin ropes are more suited to trad climbs. Is it safe to double up my single rope to act as twin ropes on short routes (obviously less than 30m) or is it better just to use the single and accept the higher rope drag?

Thanks for the help.
 a crap climber 07 May 2012
In reply to matt1024:

By twin ropes you probably mean half/double ropes, as there is a difference. There is a short explanation of different rope types here

http://www.needlesports.com/catalogue/content.aspx?con_id=3e5f37f1-f997-40e...

You could use you single as a double, but for short routes it may be more effort than its worth, especially if your climbing in the easier grades where there is plenty of good gear.

If the route looks like rope drag will be a problem due to runners being spaced either side of the climb then give it a go. The best way to tie in is to use a bowline on the bight at the mid point of the rope. This is safer than using a crab to clip in. If you have to use a crab, make sure it's the second who uses it, not the leader, but as I said, its better to tie in.
In reply to matt1024: I assume you mean double and not twin ropes. Twin ropes are usually thinner than double ropes and both strands are designed to be clipped into the same crab. Doubles are to be clipped independently of each other and help to reduce drag on long winding routes. You could conceivably use your single as a double rope but i wouldn't advise using it as a twin!
 Dave 88 07 May 2012
In reply to matt1024:

Doubles-

Pros-
Less drag on wandering pitches.
Ability to make full length abseils.
Redundancy if one rope got severed.

Cons-
More faff.
Heavier (usually).
Can increase impact force on gear.