UKC

Sport climbing etiquette

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
arnott70536 09 Oct 2012
Hi

I am starting out rock climbing and think that sport climbing will be the best way to start and learn the basics before doing any trad climbing. My question is, is there any sport climbing etiquette I should adhere to when at a wall. For example should I let more experienced climbers have precedence over the route as I am only a beginner.

Any advice much appreciated
 the sheep 09 Oct 2012
In reply to arnott70536:
Nope, you are at a wall and your money is worth the same as anyone else's. Enjoy the climbing and dont worry about being a beginner, everyone starts at some point.
arnott70536 09 Oct 2012
In reply to the sheep:
I may just be confusing myself here but do you have to pay for outdoor bolted routes (which is what I meant by sport climbing at a wall) showing how much of a beginner I really am.
 tlm 09 Oct 2012
In reply to arnott70536:

A wall is generally taken to be an indoor artificial climbing wall, which you do pay for.

Outdoors, you generally talk about a crag.

Where are you based? There may be a good club based near to you.

Also, no need to think that you have to start with sports climbing. Many people just start out on easier trad climbs if that is what they are interested in doing. What made you want to try climbing?
arnott70536 09 Oct 2012
In reply to tlm: thanks for the heads up on the terminology. I'm based near Wakefield. I suppose it's a bit of the inner child in me just wanting to climb things and the natural progression from trees is to crags! I think climbing bolted crags would be a quicker way to get into climbing as I'm hoping ill be ok with a good rack of quick draws, without all the nuts and possibly cams (expense) I'd need for trad climbing
 Ramblin dave 09 Oct 2012
In reply to arnott70536: