UKC

Southampton Uni

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jonny_098 22 Jun 2006
Just wondering if any of you lot are climbers in or around Southampton? Am goin to uni there this september you see... Whats the sea cliffs like round there?
In reply to jonny_098: get in contact with the Southampton Uni Mountaineering club they are a good group.
the cliffs around southampton swanage and portland are both good venues if you like that kind of thing. I am a soton uni student although i barely climb at the moment due to other priorities
 psicobloc 22 Jun 2006
In reply to jonny_098: I don't study at southampton uni, but i climb a lot with the uni club.

Its a wicked group and they're very active, organising loads of trips across the uk and europe. The club website is
www.sumountaineers.org

The local (ish) sea cliffs are at swanage which is an excellent venue.

Richard Horn 22 Jun 2006
In reply to jonny_098:

Calshot is the nearest good wall, about 20 mins drive away, think the uni climb there on a thursday night.

Nearest outdoor crags are Swanage and Portland, both in Dorset.
OP jonny_098 22 Jun 2006
In reply to psicobloc:

Just had a look at the website, looks pretty good! Dont think i could get at it through susu cos u need to be a member or something? Its good to know that there are climbers that far south! Looking forward to soton, u dont happen to know the surf clubs website do you? btw, passionwagon looks awesome!
OP jonny_098 22 Jun 2006
In reply to Southampton Tom:

Cool, how many people do u reckon r in the club atm?
OP jonny_098 22 Jun 2006
In reply to Richard Horn:

Red scoop at calshot looks hardcore. Some of the other routes look small tho. (is that just me being picky!) Is there much bouldering there?
 Ashley 22 Jun 2006
In reply to jonny_098: