UKC

Zero G Ropes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bluerockman 11 Sep 2007
I'm looking at replacing my faithful Mammut Genesis ropes. Now, me being a student I like my gear cheap. So I've been having a think about Zero G G-Strings. Anyone used them, rate them in comparrioson to the Genesis ropes.

Thoughts/Comments...
OP bluerockman 11 Sep 2007
In reply to bluerockman: bump....
 Blue Straggler 11 Sep 2007
In reply to bluerockman:

I own a pair (60m dry-treated). Seem alright to me though I've never lobbed onto one! They handle fine. I haven't owned any other ropes and have rarely climbed on thinner than 9mm before getting these so I can't make that sort of comparison.
 Flash 11 Sep 2007
In reply to bluerockman:

I am in the same situation of you (well nearly - I start uni in 2weeks...) and was having a look at the Zero G ropes, they dont seem to cope with as many falls according to the website but part of me thinks that I dont plan on doing that very often and that you can't sell bad kit in this country so Im am quite tempted by them...
 withey 11 Sep 2007
In reply to bluerockman:

A friend got his here:

http://www.joe-brown.com/outdoor-gear/zero-g---g-srin-8.5-x-50m-dry-702.htm...

he likes them. Doesn't climb much now, but used them for two years or so of very regular climbing, and also quite a few falls. Still going strong. You can do a lot worse.
 Blue Straggler 11 Sep 2007
In reply to Flash:
> they dont seem to cope with as many falls according to the website but part of me thinks that I dont plan on doing that very often

Well said, I've often wondered why someone would buy a rope rated to a few more high-factor falls than another rope, unless they were really going for some bold exposed sparsely protected multipitch routes full of overhangs etc.

I think I'd be retiring well before my ropes i.e. I am rated to about 0 factor 2 falls
soveda@work 12 Sep 2007
In reply to bluerockman: