UKC

How others see us

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Doug 09 Feb 2008
Anyone else amused by the piece comparing rock & ice climbing in today's Guardian.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/weekend/story/0,,2253881,00.html

Wonder if the journalist has ever actually climbed
SHOEGAL 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug: I'm new to all this, I'm only actually just getting into joining a club and getting going so my opinion won't count for much. i've done ice climbing down a glacier in the Arctic but at no point was i feeling inner peace! it was my first ever attemp at something like that so i don't know if when you've been doing it a while that's the feeling you get.

how wrong have they got it then? i take it by the fact you've posted this they're wrong?
In reply to Doug: Good grief. Just read that article. What a prat.
 MeMeMe 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug:

Plimsolls?
I think he may have researched climbing in the 1950s by mistake...
In reply to Doug: Well I ice climb and Im a physical blob of shite - others may see me as an even worse blob of shite than I see myself though
dinkypen 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug:

"climbing over awkward terrain - such as technical boulder-climbing - is unpredictable and spasmodic"

eh?!
 Alex Roddie 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug:
So down jackets are 'essential' for ice climbing now, are they? <scoff>

The whole article is laughably rubbish.
 Toby S 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug:

ooh 'fighting with an alien environment'. I like it.

What did you do at the weekend?

I fought in an alien environment and achieved a state of inner peace and almost meditative ecstasy.

Al Evans 09 Feb 2008
In reply to just wanna climb:
> (In reply to Doug) Good grief. Just read that article. What a prat.

Isn't Chris Moss the prat that wrote that article suggesting that the polar caps are increasing not shrinking?
 CJD 09 Feb 2008
In reply to Doug:

ha ha ha ha ha.