UKC

Tour De Mont Blanc

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Junglegirl 21 Feb 2008
Hi, It's my first time posting here and I thought some of you might be able to advise me. I'm going to do the TMB starting walking on 21st June. The guide books say allow 12 -14 days but I wondered if it is possible to complete the proper walk in 9 days? (obviously no cable-car-ing, lol) Hopefully there will be no days where weather would prevent walking and I'm not factoring in any rest days.
Has anyone got any advice for the trip and if anyone has done it, how did it go?
Anything much appreciated and many thanks.

Linda
 Alyson 21 Feb 2008
In reply to Junglegirl: I'm doing it later this summer too and like you, I'm planning to get round in 9 days. I've done enough walking in mountainous areas to have a good idea of how many miles I can cover in a day so I think this is pretty feasible.
 billy.grant 21 Feb 2008
In reply to Junglegirl: you'd want to be doing about 10-12 miles a day but should be very doable given that the runners can do it in around 20hrs.
Mike Bradford 21 Feb 2008
In reply to Alyson: Yes 9 days is fine, I do guided trips and do it with 2 rest days and take 13 days, so if you have a reasonable level of fitness 9 will be fine. Enjoy it, it's a great walk!
jaypee 21 Feb 2008
Hi Linda,

I did the traditional anti-clockwise route in 9 days last year, doing 2 stages a day for 2 days the latter half of the route to fit it into 9 days. Was quite heavy going though as did it solo carrying all camping gear as started about 6th June before refuges open.

Would also have been nice to walk "light" and stayed in refuges, can heartily recommend the Col du Bonhomme refuge for friendly staff where I had lunch and the lovely Bonatti hut for sheer location.