UKC

Grooved arete

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 snakes77 30 Apr 2009
Im off to the Ogwen Valley at the weekend and palnning on taking on "grooved arete". I'm pretty new to this rock climbling / scrambling only got 3 rope climbs under may belt ( FPR, Idwal & Cneifion arete ) My leader as left me the choice of route and a I fancy "grooved arete" Am I biting off more than I can chew?? love a challenge thro!!
 Mike Raine 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77:

The three routes you've done in prep are a good choice as you're main difficulty is route finding. Do not underestimate the Knight's Move pitch though. If the weather is poor be prepared to change your plan.
 Trangia 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77:

You say "my leader has left me the choice", in which case you will be seconding? If so, go for it and enjoy!

It's a popular route so expect queues.
 The Pylon King 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77:

Get up there as early as you can possibly do, then you'll have the route to yourselves and in the morning sun. Its a great route. Enjoy.
 Andy Farnell 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77: Thought at first you were talking about the classic 8a+ at Kilnsey. Maybe next year eh...

Andy F
 Morgan Woods 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77:

if you have a good forecast then maybe do a route or two on little tryfan, then head over to do GA for the rest of the day. As said above route finding is one of the main difficulties, we managed to get slightly off route.
 GrahamD 30 Apr 2009
In reply to Morgan Woods:

> if you have a good forecast then maybe do a route or two on little tryfan, then head over to do GA for the rest of the day.

Sounds like a sure fire recipe for a benightment unless the leader is pretty experienced and efficient!

omerta 30 Apr 2009
In reply to snakes77:

This was my first lead. Great route but I second the slight concern over Knights Move particularly if the weather is pants. Good luck!
 Morgan Woods 30 Apr 2009