UKC

Rock-climbing without hexes?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jamie B 17 May 2009
Can it be done? I want to streamline my rack and cams would arguably be more versatile. And definately less noisy.
 petestack 17 May 2009
In reply to Jamie Bankhead:

Yes! But you know I rarely take or use mine...
 Ropeboy 17 May 2009

Yep, I've been climbing for over 15 years and I don't have any hex's. Just replace with cams.

J
 john arran 17 May 2009

I haven't used hexes in at least 10 years. Assuming you can afford enough cams and are capable of using them effectively you should be able to sell your hexes on ebay!

Yes, there will always be an occasional placement that's perfect for a hex and where a cam really isn't great, but these times are so rare they aren't worth lugging a whole rack of hexes to every crag and up every route for.
In reply to john arran: Likewise, I haven't used any hexes for the last 10 years - I bought some as a beginner, but ended up giving them away once I caved in to my cam buying addiction
 beardy mike 17 May 2009
In reply to Jamie Bankhead: Yes. I only ever carry a couple in the winter.
 sutty 17 May 2009
In reply to mike kann:

Ah, but Jamie does a lot of winter stuff as well, so which should he keep for then?
OP Jamie B 17 May 2009
In reply to mike kann:

In winter I'd never be without them, and I would miss the odd decent placement in summer, but I definately dont get the full value from my cams. I'm also interested in the big (11-14) rocks on wire.
 Mark Stevenson 18 May 2009
In reply to Jamie Bankhead: For most UK trad if you have a FULL set of cams (specificaly 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5 and 4) there is utterly no point in carrying hexes. I've got a Rockcentric 6 on wire on my large wires krab as an alternative to the large WC Rocks but in common with others haven't carried standard hexes/rockcentrics for personal climbing since 2001.

However, there are a couple of exceptions: